Classism

I always knew there was something I didn’t like about the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. I thought it wasn’t it, though, it was me. I thought it was how detached the pink water bottles, t-shirt, caps and especially the annoying ubiquitous ribbons left me feeling from what the actual point was. I always felt bad about myself, with my jaded view of pink marketing. The frothing good will and sentiment the race managed to whip up did, at least resemble solidarity. Now its directors have proven that classism can override solidarity, as they cut off Planned Parenthood, severing money that only had the purpose of helping women who didn’t otherwise have access to the screening — that they say they feel is necessary. Absolutely sickening. Saying “I’m not concerned about the very poor” is not a gaffe, and acting on that sentiment, as Susan G. Komen has, is not a “pro-life” statement either. It is a statement of fact.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

